Close close icon




Close close icon

Polar Squash Workforce Awards Criteria

Nominations will be judged against the criteria below for achievements in 2017, with the exception of the Special Recognition Award which recognises lifelong achievements. Nominators are encouraged to provide as much information and evidence as possible to show how the nominee meets one or more of the criteria.

Outstanding Coach of the Year

This award recognises the achievements of an outstanding coach and is open to qualified England Squash coach members. We'd like to see a range of nominations whether that's an elite coach whose players have been successful at national or international events, a club coach whose innovative practice has seen more people playing and staying at the club or a young coach who has been successful at getting more people on court.
Individuals must demonstrate at least one of the following:

  • evidence of achievements by the players or team being coached
  • examples of innovative practice and the impact on participants, a club, coaching programme or community
  • evidence of more people playing and staying in squash
  • evidence of high quality, inclusive coaching programmes that engage with new and existing club members from all ages and backgrounds
  • evidence of supporting other coaches and young people

Special Recognition Award

This award will be presented to an exceptional candidate to recognise his or her achievements. We know there are many people whose lifelong dedication to squash deserves recognition. Do you know someone whose achievements in developing, supporting or leading the game deserve this special recognition?
Individuals must demonstrate at least one of the following:

  • evidence of a lifelong commitment to squash
  • evidence that the nominee is an inspirational role model who has made a significant contribution to the game
  • examples of how the nominee has provided the opportunity for more people to play, watch, support, volunteer or coach in squash
  • evidence of creating a legacy in a club, county association, community or within squash as a whole

Volunteer of the Year

This award recognises the outstanding contribution volunteers make to the organisation of a huge range of squash activities across the country. Do you know someone who deserves recognition for their ongoing voluntary work within Squash? Is there a volunteer within your county association who really drives squash programmes forward in your area, or a volunteer at your club who has been instrumental in ensuring your club programmes are thriving?
Individuals must demonstrate at least one of the following:

  • evidence of developing, organising or supporting squash
  • evidence of what they have organised and implemented to support more people to start playing and keep playing squash
  • examples of significant impact in squash on a local or national level
  • examples of commitment to self development such as attending a course or taking on a new role
  • examples of commitment and dedication

Tony Parker Award: Referee of the Year

Named after popular and long serving referee, Tony Parker, this award recognises the much valued commitment referees make to the game, particularly in ensuring the successful running of squash competitions and events across the country.
Individuals must demonstrate at least one of the following:

  • examples of a commitment to refereeing at a large number of events
  • examples of the nominee assiting in the training, development and support of referees
  • evidence that the nominee is an ambassador for England Squash and a role model for inspiring new referees