Close close icon



close icon
arrow pointing leftBack 11 April 24 - by Ryan Booth

Kennedy and ElShorbagy to lead the charge at 2024 European Team Championships

England Squash has announced a formidable squad that will head to Zürich for the 2024 ESF European Team Championships.

Taking place between 1-4 May, the team will be aiming for a repeat of last year’s men’s and women’s double gold heroics to capture the prestigious titles for the 44th and 43rd time, respectively.

World No.6 and recent German Open winner Gina Kennedy will lead the women’s team and will be joined by two-time Commonwealth Silver medalist Sarah-Jane Perry, plus world No. 23 Lucy Beecroft and two-time British National champion Jasmine Hutton. Monte Carlo Classic winner and world No. 29 Lucy Turmel completes the strong line-up.

Captain Adrian Waller will head up the men’s side and will feature alongside world No.7 Mohamed ElShorbagy and world No.9 Marwan ElShorbagy, who is set to make his debut.

Czech Open winner Patrick Rooney has been included in the squad for a third consecutive tournament, whilst world No. 34 Nick Wall and No.43 Curtis Malik have also been selected.

Kennedy said:

“I’m delighted to have been selected for the Europeans again. I was so proud to represent England at last year’s event and to win double gold was a special experience. I can’t wait to link up with the squad and hopefully help secure another victory this year.”

Marwan ElShorbagy said:

“I’m really looking forward to making my European debut in Zürich next month. The team performed brilliantly last year and I’m excited to help my brother and teammates retain gold again this time around.”

Commenting on the squad, England Coach Tania Bailey said:

“We’ve got an exceptionally talented group of players heading to the Euros this year. 2023 was a memorable tournament and our aim is to achieve the same feat this year. The addition of Marwan adds another dimension to our attack who will thrive in this environment.”

For draws and schedules, visit the European Squash website.