Close close icon




Close close icon

Senior Inter County Championships

The Inter County Championships is the largest competition that we run with more than 2,000 players representing their counties in 22 categories throughout the season across Senior, Masters and Junior categories.

The Senior Championships provide competitive opportunities for players beyond club level in a team environment, and the opportunity to represent their county.

The event is split up into two weekends, Division One and Premier.

Event Dates

Stage 1 (Division 1 only): 26th-27th February 2022

Finals (Premier Division & Division 1 promotion): 9th - 10th April 2022

The draws for Stage 1 are now available on All players wishing to participate must be current ES members and be nominated on Leaguemaster by each county in order to be able to play. The court schedule and timings for each venue can be found here. There is one tab for the North and one tab for the South. Groups are colour coded. If there are any changes prior to the weekend then they will communicated in an updated version to all impacted teams as soon as possible.

All groups have been drawn at random with the following formats applied to fit the number of entries:

  • Men- round robin groups with group winners to go through into an 8 team draw at the Finals weekend, with the top 2 teams gaining promotion to the Premier division.
  • Women- round robin groups with the top 2 from each group to go through into an 8 team draw at the Finals weekend, with the top 2 teams gaining promotion to the Premier division.

The venues for Stage 1 are:

North (all teams)

  • Hallamshire Tennis and SC, 716 Ecclesall Rd, Sheffield S11 8TA. The contact on site over the weekend will be Tom Murton ( / 01142662153)

South (see groupings on spreadsheet)

  • Horsham SC, Cricket Field Rd, Horsham RH12 1TE. The contact on site will be Clare ( / 01403 254628)
  • Hove Fitness and Squash, Orchard Rd, Hove, BN3 7BG. The contact on site will be Ben Hutton ( / 07966 426641)


  • Stage 1
    • Division One will be played out over the 26th and 27th February 2022
    • Counties have been split into randomly drawn groups of 3 or 4.
    • The winner of each group in Division 1 will go into a promotion group to be played at the Premier Finals weekend in April 2022
  • Finals
    • The Premier Divisions and Division 1 promotion groups will play out this weekend
    • Both groups of counties will be played out in an 8 draw monrad format with the bottom two teams from Premier Division being relegated to Division One and the top two from Division One being promoted to the Premier Division.
  • Two teams are promoted and relegated each season (where appropriate)
  • Teams are made up of five players and played out as a best of 5 format

Competition Management

  • The Championships are run by England Squash centrally
  • Counties are responsible for entering teams and for the selection of players for teams
  • All players must be valid England Squash members in order to participate in the Championships

For more information contact